Assembly wins 2020 Webby Award for best newsletter

<p>Courtesy of Hannah Orenstein</p>

Courtesy of Hannah Orenstein

Launched in 2018, Assembly is a platform by and for girls around the world.

Malala Fund is proud to announce that Assembly, our digital publication for young women, won the 2020 Webby Award for best email newsletter.

The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organisation honouring excellence on the internet. The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, which selects winners and presents The Webby Awards, is composed of internet industry experts. This year, the Webby Awards received 13,000 entries from 70 countries.

Launched in 2018, Assembly is a platform by and for girls around the world. From developing Native-centric curricula in the U.S. to raising the age of consent for child marriage in Nigeria, Assembly contributors write about their activism for education and equality. Through articles, photo essays, art and more, girls discuss the issues affecting their communities, including period poverty, gender discrimination and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Assembly’s newsletter is emailed to subscribers' inboxes on the first and third Thursday of every month. Each issue features new articles and sections like “Around the World,” where girls sound off on the issues that matter to them, and “Roll Call,” where girls take readers along for a week in their lives. 

“I want to thank all the young women who read and contribute to Assembly,” said Tess Thomas, editor of Assembly. “You are the driving force of this newsletter and I'm so proud to share the Webby Award with each and every one of you. We created Assembly so that your voices could be heard — and this award shows the world is listening.”

The 24th Annual Webby Awards were held over the internet on Tuesday, May 19. Malala Yousafzai accepted the award with four Assembly contributors from Nigeria, Turkey, Ethiopia and Canada: Hauwa Mohammed, Öykü Deniz Yaman, Selamawit Hintsamariam and Angelina Tropper. In Webby Award tradition, they gave a five-word speech: “Girls, this is for you."

Credits for the Webby Award go to Malala Fund staff: Hannah Orenstein, Bhumika Regmi, María Rendo, Taylor Royle, Ayesha Shakya, Tess Thomas and McKinley Tretler as well as past editorial interns, Omolara Uthman and Emma Yee Yick. 

Fellow nominees for this year’s award in the email newsletter category included AARP’s Disrupt Aging, the Important, Not Important newsletter and The Washington Post’s By The Way and Lilly Lines. Previous winners in this category in recent years include CNN, Buzzfeed and The New York Times.

To support girls’ voices and learn from the young women generating change, subscribe to Assembly at


Malala Fund is working for a world where every girl can learn and lead.

Launching Malala Fund’s Girl Advocate Guide

Malala Fund welcomes two new board members

Sign up to learn how you can help support Malala Fund and receive the latest updates on our work.